Teach or Perish


October 24, 2011 – 7:13pm    By    Afshan Jafar

Those of us who have been, or are, in graduate school have come across this mantra: publish or perish. What is important about this phrase is not only the unrelenting pressure it puts on graduate students and early career faculty to publish, but the unspoken lack of emphasis it places on teaching. We go through graduate programs learning how to do research, but even now very few programs actively teach us how to teach or even encourage us to teach. Or so it seems to me, as I plow through piles of applications for a job in my department. I remember being a graduate student when the message to publish was seared into my brain. Where was the parallel message for teaching? (More)
Shared with permission of the author

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.